Monday, May 26, 2014

Turkey and Colombia Won the Palme d’Or in Cannes 2014

Festival de Cannes - Page Officielle

Turkey and Colombia Won the Palme d’Or in Cannes 2014
By José Alberto Hermosillo
Turkey and Colombia took the gold at the most prestigious film festival in the world. Turkey's “Winter Sleeps” directed by Nuri Belge Ceylan won the Palme d’Or for best picture, and Colombia’s “Leidi” directed by Simón Mesa Soto won Palme d’Or for best short film. The co-production Mexican-Argentinean “Jauja” directed by Lisandro Alonso (“Liverpool,”“Los Muertos,” “La Libertad”) won the FIPRESCI award in the section Un Certain Regard.

The other winners sound strong for the upcoming awards, such as the Oscars. Best actress winner Julianne Moore “Maps to the Stars” is taking the lead. As well as best actor winner Timothy Spall for “Mr. Turner.” And maybe best foreign film for Turkey with "Winter Sleep."

Nuri Belge Ceylan, in his acceptance speech, mentioned that this recognition coincides with the 100th Anniversary of Turkish Cinema and dedicated the award to the young people of Turkey, including those who lost their lives.

Ceylan has been recognized in Cannes previously: In 2002 “Distant” and in 2011 “Once Upon a Time in Anatolia.” Both films won the Grand Prix. In 2008, he won best director for “Three Monkeys.” This is the second time Turkey wins the big prize in history - the first time was in 1982 for “Yol/The Road/The Way.”

The Awards:
  • Palme d’Or: “Kis Uykusu/Winter Sleep,” d. Nuri Bilge Ceylan (Turkey, France, Germany)
  • Grand Prix: “Le Meraviglie/The Wonder,” d. Alice Rohrwacher (Italy)
  • Director: Bennett Miller, “Foxcatcher” (U.S.)
  • Jury Prize (tie): “Mommy,” d. Xavier Dolan (France, Canada). And “Good Bye to Language,” d. Jean-Luc Godard (France)
  • Actor: Timothy Spall, “Mr. Turner”, d. Mike Leigh (U.K.)
  • Actress: Julianne Moore, "Maps to the Stars," d. David Cronenberg (Canada, U.S., France, Germany)
  • Best Screenplay: Andrey Zvyaginstev y Oleg Negin, “Leviafan/Leviathan,” d. Andrey Zvyagintsev (Russia).
The Other Prizes:
  • Camera d’Or: “Party Girl,” d. Marie Amachoukeli, Claire Burger y Samuel Theis (France)
  • Short Films Palme d’Or: “Leidi,” d. Simón Mesa Soto (Colombia, U.K.)
  • Short Films Special Mention: “Aïssa,” d. Clément Trehin-Lalanne (France)
  • Ecumenical Jury Prize: “Timbuktu,” d. Abderrahmene Sissako (Mauritania, France)
  • FIPRESCI Un Certain Regard: “Jauja,” d. Lisandro Alonso (Mexico, Argentina).

No comments:

Post a Comment